Tags

, , , , ,

This is a very (very) long overdue post.

I apologize to everyone that I have not written any motivating fitness articles in months. I am not going to give you any excuses about being busy or distracted or lazy, but if you keep reading you will know the true reason for not having written lately and why I am writing now.

It is easy to fall to off the fitness wagon. It can happen to anyone and it happened to me earlier this year.

For me, my love of fitness and fitness classes began waning when I stopped seeing results. Due to dietary issues and performing the same fitness routine week after week, I began plateauing and eventually, going in the opposite direction than I wanted. Despite this, I still attended classes. I say attended because I wasn’t always giving them everything I used to, but at minimum, I followed the mantra that no workout is a bad one.

Then life happened. Mid January through April are very busy at my business and those months were made even busier and stressful by a rash of bad luck that hit our already stretched office staff. I often didn’t leave the office in time to make it the studio and other days I was so drained that all I wanted to do was curl up on the couch and watch TV. My once religious routine of being at S.W.E.A.T. five to six times a week turned into two or three times tops.

My S.W.E.A.T. friends all noticed my absence. They would send me texts before class asking if my spot needed to be saved or message me after class to see if I was okay. This was much appreciated but not enough to get back my former love of fitness. I found that once the routine was broken, it was very easy to not force myself back into it and it was very easy to get discouraged.

That being said, I didn’t completely veg on my couch for months. I did try to keep active whenever possible by going for walks, doing weight lifting routines at home and swimming laps at the local pool. Without the routine and support this was difficult. Just as you might think, this was even worse for my lack of progress than half heartedly going to class.

Eventually, life calmed down enough that it was again possible for me to go to the gym nearly everyday. That doesn’t mean I had the motivation though. It was all too easy to just stay at the office late or go right home.

Somewhere around this time I realized that I couldn’t let my fitness journey go. After nearly four years of listening to Jess talk about how fitness is a lifestyle, it became ingrained in me. I realized that I was never going to find a better fitness routine, in a place with more supportive people than I had at S.W.E.A.T.

keep-calm-and-get-back-to-the-gym-6This realization helped me reset my goal to working out five times a week and getting to the studio for all five workouts if possible. So even though I didn’t really feel motivated, I basically committed to fake it until I make it. Because my routine at S.W.E.A.T. was something that I once loved, it didn’t take long for the motivation to come back.

As you may have noticed, I am back at the studio most weeks four to five times. Work still tends to get in the way at least once a week, but I now have the motivation to get out of the office in time for class. When I don’t, I do some sort of workout at home so I can hit my goal.

I learned a few important things from (mostly) stepping away from the studio.

  1. Fitness really is a lifestyle and once you have made it your lifestyle it’s pretty difficult to remove it from your life completely.
  2. Fitness is about much more than losing weight. It’s truly about doing your best, getting stronger and accomplishing your goals.
  3. Routine and support are what get me through. I live and die by my routine so making a 5:30 class part of it nearly everyday ensures that I will workout. Seeing my friends at the studio everyday doesn’t hurt either  😉

Hopefully, this post wasn’t too much of a downer. I really wanted to put my experience and thoughts out there to our S.W.E.A.T. family because I am sure I am not the only one who has fallen off the fitness wagon.

-Aimee

