Tags

, , , , ,

There have been several changes at S.W.E.A.T. Fitness Studio over the last few months.

We have had to say “see ya later” to Alex, who has been a loved member of the staff for over two years. We will soon be saying the same to Bree, who has brought so much knowledge and wisdom to clients for over a year now. Although we are very happy to know that they are furthering their careers, they will be missed in a big way.

Not all changes are sad, however. Thanks to some newly certified instructors and to Jess for finding room for them on the schedule, S.W.E.A.T. clients will have new classes challenge their abilities and help them progress.

To introduce these new instructors and their formats to you, I did a little Q & A with each of them.

PiYo with Marisa, Thursdays at 6:30 pm

Many of you already know, Marisa Schmidt, who has been instructing PiYo for the last few weeks.

Group Fitness Classes S.W.E.A.T. Fitness

Marisa is a natural on the stage, while teaching PiYo.

Why were you drawn to this program to begin instructing?
I really needed something quick and easy to get me started. I’ve wanted to try teaching for so long, but because I have a full time job and other hobbies, I had a hard time finding something that does not take forever and does not cost a fortune… For example, I love yoga but a basic certification takes at least 200 hours and is over $3,000. PiYo Live provides you with both music and choreography and it’s only a one-day certification! It allows me to teach moves I know and love but in an accessible way for my schedule. Now with this under my belt, I feel more confident to reach for other certifications.

What is the most challenging part about teaching this class?
The creators of PiYo do a great job making the class fun for everyone, but I knew that most challenging part would be getting people to try it! I know S.W.E.A.T fitness is known for high energy cardio and weightlifting classes, so something based off yoga and pilates might be a tough sell.

What do you think will be your favorite part?
My favorite part though is being able to make yoga/pilates open to all in ways that can be modified and in ways that make people sweat, which is what they come to this fitness facility to do!

Why did you want to make the jump from being a client to instructor?
Well, I’m 26 years old.. In the last 2 years, I bought a house and got married… and in the next couple years, I plan to start a family. I began to think, what goals do I want to reach just for ME? What do I want to do now in order to make it a habit for a lifetime? I always enjoyed sharing things I love with others, and I wanted to share my love of fitness and I knew if I did not do it now, it would be more difficult in the future. I also had finally found a fitness studio where I felt very comfortable and welcome which makes that scary step so much easier.

Do you think the program you are teaching is a good program for all fitness levels or is it geared toward a higher or lower fitness level?
I definitely think it’s accessible to all. It’s already designed to be low impact and without equipment, but it is certainly high intensity. It can easily be modified to downgrade the intensity. There is much repetition so breaks can be taken and there are tons of opportunities to catch on. It’s great for any fitness level because there is always room to work on flexibility and balance while increasing your strength in ways that dumbbells cannot.

Turbo Kick with Adriana, coming soon to Mondays at 4:30 pm and subbing other classes

Group Fitness Classes S.W.E.A.T. Fitness

Adriana might look cute here, but during Turbo Kick, she’ll be tough and ready to kick butt!

Adriana Serpico, the new Turbo Kick instructor, has been coming to classes at S.W.E.A.T for many years. Unlike Marisa, instructing was not something she initially thought of getting into. After some encouragement, she decided to get certified and is excited to bring this format to our studio.

Why were you drawn to this program to begin instructing?
Before getting certified in Turbo Kick, I was somewhat familiar with the format because I have the at home program “TurboFire” which was also created by Chalene Johnson. Jess1 approached me and encouraged me to get certified so I thought why not? I probably wouldn’t have made the jump to an instructor if it weren’t for Jess’s encouragement and guidance so I am very grateful for her support throughout all of this.

What is the most challenging part about teaching this class?  
The most challenging part of teaching (so far) is learning the choreography. I have never done anything like this before and usually learn by doing whatever Jess does but now I have to teach myself which is so much harder than it looks! However, the music is so fun and its such a great workout so its easy to stay motivated.

Why did you want to make the jump from being a client to instructor?
I probably wouldn’t have made the jump to an instructor if it weren’t for Jess’s encouragement and guidance so I am very grateful for her support throughout all of this.

Do you think the program you are teaching is a good program for all fitness levels?
Turbo Kick is super fun because anyone can do it. Although it is very high intensity, there are modifications to keep it low impact yet still provide an awesome workout!

Core class with Donna,  Tuesdays and Fridays at 9:30, coming soon

Group Fitness Classes S.W.E.A.T. Fitness

Donna Shimshock demonstrating a side plank, one of the many things clients will learn in her class.

Some of you may not know that a new instructor will be teaching a core class beginning this summer. Donna Shimshock, an all around fitness guru, has been coming to S.W.E.A.T. and training with Jess for a long time. Donna is always up for a challenge and so she wanted to make the jump from client to instructor. Although she did get certified in PiYo, she decided classes all her own would be a better fit for her.

What kind of class will you be teaching? What time slot?
I will be teaching a core class on Tuesday and Friday mornings at 9:30. My first class will be June 9th.

Why did you chose to instruct this type of class instead of a program like PiYo, Insanity or Turbo Kick?
The reason I chose to instruct a class that I developed rather than an already designed program is because I like being able to choose the exercises that I feel will benefit anyone trying to strengthen their core and hand picking the music is important to me. I am also having a blast doing it!

Why did you want to make the jump from being a client to instructor?
Why did I jump into instructor role? Exercise has been my passion for many years now. I have done every form of exercise there is, including boxing, and hard core Crossfit. Exercise has changed my life. I feel it is the answer to many things beyond the physical appearance of the body. Instructing was the next step, it’s where I feel I am meant to be. I have book knowledge on group instructing, I was certified in PiYo, and I learned a lot from Jess while spending many hours personal training with her.

What different knowledge do you bring to the class you will be teaching versus the other instructors?
What I can bring as an instructor to my class is countless hours studying the core exercises that will safely benefit and strengthen your body. But what I can bring most to my class is the fact that I personally hit rock bottom and exercise turned my life around in every single way! I understand and can relate to many. And I love people, I love to laugh, and have fun!

Personally, I am looking forward to trying all of these classes when I have the chance. I am so grateful for this studio and Jess, who is always challenging us with new courses, new exercises and new adventures. I hope all of the clients try these new classes and best of luck to our new instructors!

-Aimee, blogger for  S.W.E.A.T. Fitness StudioReBath Northeast and Edward’s Garden Center

 

