Tags

, , , , , ,

In my last post, I shared some of my fitness motivation. A few days later, our wonderful S.W.E.A.T. instructors introduced a new motivation page on Facebook. I immediately joined and began reading the discussions. I know many of you have also done the same.

For anyone who doesn’t know about the new S.W.E.A.T. motivation page let me tell you a little about what you are missing.

Gina created the page so that she and others would have a place to share their fitness struggles, motivation and healthy recipes. Like many of us, myself included, she found some Facebook friends that do not want to hear about her workout.progress

By creating the group, Gina and anyone in the group can share workout tips, delicious post-workout meals and healthy pre-workout snacks, without getting negative feedback from Facebook friends.

With all of this AWFUL winter weather, the group has become a great success. Instructors and students have been posting interesting workouts that we can all do at home, when the snow prevents us from getting to the studio. The notifications reminded me that just because the studio is closed doesn’t mean I should skip my workout. I got my cardio shoveling snow (ugh) and did some toning at home with light weights.

Another hot topic for snow days is the temptation to snack all day when stuck in the house. I can completely relate to this problem! From seeing posts about healthier snacks, I feel compelled to ignore the temptation to bake cookies and instead grab an apple and some peanut butter.

Originally, the group was by invitation only. The instructors want to make sure anything on the page for discussion is positive or motivating. That is not to say, you can’t post about a move or exercise that you are struggling with. You absolutely can. Group members will give you tips or just cheer you up. But, try to stick with motivating posts.

The S.W.E.A.T. motivation group is a fabulous idea. We all need motivation at one time or another, even our instructors. If you haven’t checked out this motivation page yet, you definitely need to do so right now. Follow the link: https://www.facebook.com/groups/607177706028408/.

And as always, get moving, get motivated and get to class! You won’t regret it!

-Aimee

