Tags

, ,

Hello S.W.E.A.T. Friends!

First, my apologies for the delay in posting lately, I have been hard at work updating video, and photos for our website & Facebook page. I’m sure you’ve seen me sneaking around your classes lately, stay tuned as the project continues I will be posting the new stuff at the end of this month! That being said, should you see a picture of yourself that you are not 100% satisfied with me posting please contact me and I will gladly remove it! Thank you for S.W.E.A.T.-ing pretty for me this week, and next. I personally think you all look amazing getting your S.W.E.A.T. on 😛

Now, onto the main reason for my post today! This week I’ve been getting some metabolism/caloric intake questions. There is TONS of confusion out there about the healthy, smart way to attack this. That’s ok, some of it may not make total sense but our bodies are very complex machines, and while not every body works the same, there are some basic rules of thumb that are pretty standard workings!

So… Here are some of the questions I’ve been getting, and some corresponding advice/medical research articles to back it up, and some general tips & tricks for powering up the machine to make sure it’s well oiled!

Question: Why do I have to eat 1200+ calories a day?

Jess2’s Simple Answer: Your body NEEDS calories to function, period. If you aren’t giving your body the necessary fuel for it to function, it’s going to start attacking itself in ways you don’t want it to, believe me. Starvation mode from giving your body too little calories, and nutrients, brings on a fat storage response. Your body starts thinking “Hey, I better slow my role {metabolism}, and I’ve got to store ALL of this up because I know I’m not getting anymore food for awhile.” Enter extra fat that you DON’T WANT! Not to mention at it’s worst once it blows though all of the potential energy sources it will begin to attack and break down your muscle mass… NOT COOL 🙂

Articles:

StraightHealth.com:

The Bottom Line – Solution to Starvation Mode

The solution to starvation mode and weight loss plateaus is to take a balanced approach to weight loss that includes both diet and exercise. Increasing your physical activity level will speed up your metabolism enough to counteract any slight decrease caused by a MODERATE decrease in calorie intake. Taking this balanced approach will yield healthier, more long lasting and easier results.

Read the full article: {HERE}

Example: My BMR {Basal Metabolic Rate} is 1392 based on my age, weight, and height. This means I naturally burn 1392 calories by doing nothing all day, that’s what I need just to keep my body functioning it’s basic processes. So, giving it less than that means my body needs to start slowing down, storing up extra fat for later, and tapping into other resources for energy… Not cool!

•••Calculate your BMR {HERE}•••

*Keep in mind this is an estimation of what your body would burn while it’s at rest, just basic processes going on inside you. Each body is different, and larger muscle mass will naturally burn more.

We’ve already talked about the best ways to avoid the nasty side effects of giving yourself too little… Moving on, let’s talk about the best ways to get that machine working at it’s best!

Question: How can I fit in more food? I’m not hungry!

Jess2’s Simple Answer: SNACKS… I should rephrase, periodic HEALTHY SNACKS! Keep your metabolism working for you, and powered up! Rather than adding extra calories into your big meals which just adds to the slow pace, give it some fuel between. That’s where you get your bang for your buck! You don’t need to pig out and over-fill yourself, just add in 100-200 calorie snack between each meal hungry or not. Healthy (natural foods with nutritional benefits) are your best bet of course. Adding in 200 calories of processed sugary snacks between meals is not. Too much sugar causes negative reactions in your body that I will attack in a later post, but for now just know that all calories are not broken down that same. Keep it simple, and plan them ahead. Make a date with your snacks 😛

  • 6 ounce greek yogurt = 140-ish calories
  • 1 medium apple w/ a tablespoon of peanut butter = 170-ish calories
  • 1 banana = 100-ish calories
  • 1 ounce of almonds = 180-ish calories
  • 2 medium celery stalks w/ 2 tablespoons of peanut butter = 230-ish calories
  • 3 medium carrots w/ 1ounce of blue cheese dressing = 205-ish calories

Okayyyyy you get the point! Natural, easy, and nutritious… now get snacking 😛

Articles:

WebMD: How to Boost Your Metabolism:

Sinless Snacking

Eating more really can help you lose weight — eating more often, that is. When you eat large meals with many hours in between, your metabolism slows down between meals. Having a small meal or snack every 3 to 4 hours keeps your metabolism cranking, so you burn more calories over the course of a day. Several studies have also shown that people who snack regularly eat less at meal time.

Read the full article: {HERE}

I think that just about covers our lesson for the day! A few simple steps to help you keep working towards your goals, that’s why we are all hear, right?! That being said, none of us are perfect, the road to success is a long and winding one. Set small goals, lean on friends and your S.W.E.A.T. staff for support, log your food and exercise, and most importantly just keep moving! Striving for a healthy moderate approach to diet changes and MOVING as you have read in the articles is the safest plan of attack. Sure, we all  fall off the wagon, everyone does, it’s OK! The important thing is that you GET BACK ON 🙂 It’s not easy, but it is most definitely worth the benefits you’ll receive in return. We are here to help!

I lied, lesson isn’t quite over… I want to share one more article that really offers some amazing insight on how to drop the “diet” mentality. You’ve probably heard us say it time and time again, a “diet” is often a short term commitment in most peoples minds…

WebMD: Drop the Diet Mentality:

Face it – this “dieting” is stressing you big time. And the stress is hindering your ability to achieve your goals and maintain them for a lifetime.

Read the full article: {HERE}

DONE 😛

I hope your’e enjoying your time with us at the studio, that we are offering the support you’re looking for along this healthy journey of yours, and that you feel comfortable coming to us for help. We strive to offer an open, family-oriented, FUN place for you to get-away from your day, and S.W.E.A.T. it out! Thank you all for your continued support, see you soon!

~Jess2

